Imap – ‘Our city, our stories’

As part of the Melbourne Fringe Festival ‘Melbourne Futures’, a group of artists dedicated to bringing narrative and space together, have launched ‘imap”. The idea behind the ‘Imap’ project was to hang a giant map of Melbourne in the City library and invite the public to stick personal notes on the places which hold a special meaning or story. The map will be at the City Library, 253 Flinders Lane, for the month of October (free!) so go check it out. It’s amazing what people will write when given a canvas and a measure of anonymity.  Here are some of my favourites..
My classmate is a stripper but she doesn't know that I know

My classmate is a stripper but she doesn't know that I know

Me and my best friend who doesn't talk to me anymore, climbed the fire escape and screamed all our frustration & hurt into the air miles above the city on the rooftop. And then we saw her ex-girlfriend walking below.

Me and my best friend who doesn't talk to me anymore, climbed the fire escape and screamed all our frustration & hurt into the air miles above the city on the rooftop. And then we saw her ex-girlfriend walking below.

 

Oh how my heart raced the 1st time i rode down Swanston St! Stuck between a horse and a tram - I felt I finally really lived in Melbourne!

Oh how my heart raced the 1st time i rode down Swanston St! Stuck between a horse and a tram - I felt I finally really lived in Melbourne!

I came here in a cop car with my friend who had been missing for days in her apartment. This is the scene of my complete exhaustion & overwhelmed-ness I couldn't help anymore!!!

I came here in a cop car with my friend who had been missing for days in her apartment. This is the scene of my complete exhaustion & overwhelmed-ness I couldn't help anymore!!!

Got married here    Big mistake.

Got married here Big mistake.

I love the lade who plays the piano here sometimes...

I love the lady who plays the piano here sometimes...

Had first kiss here. Interrupted by possumes. But am glad it was you.

Had first kiss here. Interrupted by possums. But am glad it was you.

I am a Eurasian Melbournite. When my father comes to visit, papa stays here. Oh the mind numbing boring walks in the park...

I am a Eurasian Melbournite. When my father comes to visit, papa stays here. Oh the mind numbing boring walks in the park...

I got bashed here :(

I got bashed here 😦

Where I lost my virginity, her name was candy.

Where I lost my virginity, her name was candy.

 

The first time...he said he loved me

The first time...he said he loved me

 

Imap launch, courtesy of Melbourne Futures

Imap launch, courtesy of Melbourne Futures

One response to “Imap – ‘Our city, our stories’

  1. sorry had to comment again:

    these fill me with joy!!

Leave a Reply

